21 listed for Ekushey Padak

February 7, 2019 at 10:13 am

Silkcitynews Desk:

The government has announced names of 21 eminent citizens for awarding prestigious Ekushey Padak for 2019.

The cultural ministry disclosed the names of the recipients today in a press release.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the Ekushey Padak to the awardees on February 20 at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre (BICC).

Prof Halima Khatun (posthumous) and Advocate Golam Arif Tipu and Prof Monowara Islam got the award for the language movement while Subir Nandi, Azam Khan (posthumous), Khairul Anam Shakil will be conferred the award for their contribution to music.

Lucky Inam, Subarna Mustafa and Liaquat Ali Lucky got the award for drama while Sayeeda Khanam and Jamal Uddin Ahmed will be given the accolades for photography and fine arts respectively.

Khitindra Chandra Boishya has been given the Ekushey Padak 2019 in the field of the Liberation War. Dr Biswajit Ghosh and Dr Mahbubul Haque will be entitled to the award for their outstanding contribution to the field of research.

In the field of education, Rizia Rahman has been nominated for the award.

Imdadul Haq Milon, Ashim Saha, Dr Anwara Syeda Haq, Mainul Ahsan Saber and Harishankar Jaladas got the award for language and literature.

Each recipient will get a gold medal, a certificate and a cheque of Taka 2 lakh.